google-oct-2016

Halloween’s Gone to the Dogs!

Halloween was so much fun when my son was younger. We would spend weeks leading up to the big day planning his costume.  There were dinosaurs, ninjas, race car drivers and more over the years.  But suddenly the fun stopped.  He was too old and too cool for Halloween.  I was devastated.  I looked at all the little ghouls and goblins that would come to the door on Halloween, envious of their parents who could still take part in the excitement of finding the perfect Halloween costume.  Little did I know that my days of dressing my baby weren’t over!

Today, I am looking forward to dressing my four legged baby again for Halloween!  Bentley is my 3 year old Brussels Griffon/Pug mix that entered my life when I rescued him from the Roanoke Valley SPCA.  Many may say he has a face only a mother could love, but I disagree! I think he is the cutest ever; especially when he is dressed for Halloween!

Last year, the Marketing team here at Goodwill had planned to appear on both WFXR and WDBJ7 to showcase how easy it is to find a unique costume at Goodwill. Both were VERY early morning appearances.  We decided that including Bentley would make it more fun and interesting for everyone.  I was SO excited!  I was going to get to dress my baby again for Halloween!

We combed our Pinterest page for the perfect costumes.  Quickly we realized that Bentley had to be an Ewok.  After all he looks just like one AND Star Wars: The Force Awakens was all the buzz last year.  We got a brown t-shirt from the $1 bin and a brown shoelace and his costume was complete.  He made his first appearance on WFXR and was immediately a star (in my eyes at least!).  Click here to see the video of Bentley’s Ewok debut!

img_6644

For the appearance on WDBJ7 we decided to dress Bentley as a little old man.

img_6653

We found a toddler shirt ($2.00) and a youth tie ($1) to create Bentley’s little old man costume.  All we did was cut the collar from the shirt and shorten the tie and Bentley’s little old man costume was done.  Unfortunately, this video clip is no longer online but trust me…Bentley was a star!

As you could see from the video clip from WFXR, it’s easy to dress yourself for Halloween at Goodwill too.  And remember we have our Costume Contest going on throughout the month of October for your chance to win an iPad Mini.  You can find more information on our website by clicking here.

I have to admit that I actually like Bentley’s little old man costume the best.  I think it fits him and his personality.  What do you think?  And we are currently brainstorming ideas for his costume this year.  Let us know if you have any thoughts!

Contributor---Kelly

 

Leave a Reply

