20 Questions to Help You Decide to Keep It, Sell it, or Donate it

20 Questions to ask to decide whether to keep an item, sell it, or donate it

Goodwill partner Lorrie Morero, a professional organizer and author of “The Clutter Diet,” created a list of 20 questions to help you when trying to decide whether or not to keep an item. Print this list and keep it with you as you organize closets, clean out the garage, or declutter your home.

  1. Is this item valuable enough to pay someone by the pound to move it to another place?
  2. What would it cost in time and money to acquire this item again?
  3. Does anyone I know have one of these I could easily borrow?
  4. How much money could I get for selling this instead of keeping it?
  5. When is the last time I can remember using this item?
  6. How often do I use it – weekly, monthly, yearly, never?
  7. Do I already have something else that serves the same purpose?
  8. What is a scenario in which I can picture myself using this, and how likely is that to happen?
  9. Is there a use for this that doesn’t involve the phrase, “Someday when I have time…”?
  10. What is the worst thing that might happen if I donate or recycle this item?
  11. Is there an alternative way to capture the essence and value of this item instead? (i.e. digital copies)
  12. Does this item help create an environment that supports me in my goals?
  13. If I flipped a coin right now and heads was “keep” and tails was “donate,” which would I secretly be rooting for as the coin is landing?
  14. Does this item make me feel positive or negative?
  15. Does this item remind me of my past, or my future?
  16. If I were hit by a bus, would my family truly value this item, or even know what it is and why I kept it?
  17. What would my best friend say if he/she were standing here considering this?
  18. What would a professional organizer say if he/she were here with me now?
  19. Will I feel good about keeping this item the next time I run into it?
  20. Does someone else need this more than I do?

For all the items you decide to donate, we hope you choose Goodwill. When you donate to Goodwill, you can be confident that you are making a positive impact on your community and helping change lives for the better. Goodwill Industries of the Valleys sells your donations in its retail stores to generate needed revenue to operate Work and Training programs for people with disabilities and disadvantages.

To find your nearest donation center, click here.

 

Leave a Reply

